A Bruised Reed Will He Not Break

4 07 2014

“I will accept thy will to do and be,
Thy hatred and intolerance of sin,
Thy will at least to love, that burns within
And thirsteth after Me:
So will I render fruitful, blessing still,
The germs and small beginnings in thy heart,
Because thy will cleaves to the better part.”
Alas, I cannot will.

“Dost not thou will, poor soul? Yet I receive
The inner unseen longings of the soul,
I guide them turning towards Me; I control
And charm hearts till they grieve:
If thou desire, it yet shall come to pass,
Though thou but wish indeed to choose My love;
For I have power in earth and heaven above.”
I cannot wish, alas!

“What, neither choose nor wish to choose? and yet
I still must strive to win thee and constrain:
For thee I hung upon the cross in pain,
How then can I forget?
If thou as yet dost neither love, nor hate,
Nor choose, nor wish — resign thyself, be still
Till I infuse love, hatred, longing, will.”
I do not deprecate.

Christina G. Rossetti

Alpha and Omega

Isaiah 42:1-4  (Lexham English Bible) 

The Mission of Yahweh’s Servant

42 Look! here is my servant; I hold him,
    my chosen one, in whom my soul delights.
I have put my spirit on him;
    he will bring justice forth to the nations.
He will not cry out and lift up
    and make his voice heard in the street.
He will not break a broken reed,
    and he not will extinguish a dim wick.
        He will bring justice forth in faithfulness.
He will not grow faint,
    and he will not be broken
until he has established justice in the earth.
    And the coastlands wait for his teaching.

Ephesians 2:4-10 (Lexham English Bible)

Made Alive in Christ

But God, being rich in mercy, because of his great love with which he loved us, and we being dead in trespasses, he made us alive together with Christ (by grace you are saved), and raised us together and seated us together in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, in order that he might show in the coming ages the surpassing riches of his grace in kindness upon us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you are saved through faith, and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God; it is not from works, so that no one can boast. 10 For we are his creation, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, so that we may walk in them.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

