Thine Image Bright

11 02 2013

Am I Thy gold? Or purse, Lord, for Thy wealth;
Whether in mine or mint refined for Thee?
I’m counted so, but count me o’er Thyself,
Lest gold-washed face, and brass in heart I be.
I fear my touchstone touches when I try
Me, and my counted gold too overly.

Am I new-minted by Thy stamp indeed?
Mine eyes are dim; I cannot clearly see.
Be Thou my spectacles that I may read
Thine image do upon me stand,
I am a golden angel in Thy hand.

Lord, make my soul Thy plate: Thine image bright
Within the circle of the same enfoil.
And on its brims in golden letters write
Thy superscription in an holy style.
Then I shall be Thy money, Thou my hoard:
Let me Thy angel be, be Thou my Lord.

Edward Taylor

 

(Note: The words translated into the English word angel from both Hebrew and Greek have the etymological and conceptual meaning of messenger — and more specifically, messenger of God. In the Biblical accounts, other activities come into play, but the task of serving as witness, spokesperson, herald is primary. Those humans who are Christians are also called by God to be messengers, as it is written, “God was in Christ reconciling the world to Himself … and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation.¬†Therefore we are ambassadors on behalf of Christ…” (2 Corinthians 5:19-20 (LEB)).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

